Let The Games Begin

The movie adaptation of The Hunger Games came off wonderfully.

I loved the novels, especially the first. Suzanne Collins writes well, but her true genius is plotting. The books gripped me with an iron hold from the very first chapter.  

The movie drew me in with the same mastery.

The midnight audience was eclectic, sporting the requisite mix of eccentrics. But it wouldn’t be opening day without flashy costumes and pageantry. Thankfully though, no one squealed or cheered whenever a handsome character strode on screen. Considering the story’s serious themes, I commend the audience’s restraint.

The art direction and sound editing (in my novice opinion) stood out as exceptional. The casting proved impeccable. Stanley Tucci and Jennifer Lawrence delivered particularly strong and layered performances. I do wish the director spent a little more time developing the relationship between Katniss and Peeta during the games, but the moments they do share on screen are flush with impact.  

I already have two dates lined up to see the movie again, and I can’t wait.

In my reckoning, only two movies have every surpassed the quality of the books that birthed them: Fried Green Tomatoes (book by Fannie Flagg) and Cold Mountain (book by Charles Frazier). The Hunger Games movie did not achieve this laudable status, but a reasonable patron will not expect it to.

It’s a great movie. Brave the crowded theaters, lukewarm popcorn, and inflated-ticket price to see it.

7 thoughts on “Let The Games Begin

  1. I think these are the first books Graham has read cover to cover. Ever! We’re going to see it tomorrow. I am so excited! 🙂

    Did you read the Divergent by Veronica Roth? It is very similar to The Hunger Games. Worth the read if you’re looking for something with a similar feel to Hunger Games.

    • That is sooooo funny! I can’t wait to hear what you guys thought of the movie. I put in a request at the library for Divergent. I’m 85th on the hold list so it must be great! Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. I already have tickets to go on Sunday and I CAN’T WAIT! We had an elephant seal get rescued a few days ago and guess what its name is, Katniss. We had just been talking too about how we will no doubt have many Hunger Games inspired names coming through!

      • I would judge you deeply if you were to name your first-born Peeta! :b But I just saw it earlier today and I was really pleasantly surprised… they hardly left anything out. A much better experience than say, Harry Potter, which left out more than kept!

Leave a Reply

