March Madness, Literary Style

Just a few months after we began dating, my husband said to me, “I won’t be able to spend much time with you in the upcoming weeks. It’s March Madness.”

March Madness? I didn’t even know what that was. Should I be concerned that it’s contagious?

Needless to say, the subsequent realization that I ranked below college basketball in his affections stung.

I like to think my standing with him has risen a bit since then, but I also adhere to the philosophy if you can’t beat ‘em, join ‘em.  I fill out a bracket now each year and even watch a few games (GO UNLV!!!).

I still prefer books to basketball, though. In keeping with the season (and my nerdy proclivities), I’ve decided to design a bracket of my own—a Literary Bracket. The books I read in 2012 will duke it out NCAA-style until the end of the year when one emerges as the tournament champ. I’ll seed speculative fiction (fantasy, sci-fi, paranormal romance, etc.) on the left side of the bracket and literary fiction and historical fiction on the right.

Here’s what my final four of 2011 would have looked like:

This is how 2012 is shaping up so far:

I’ll keep an updated bracket on my “bookshelf” page throughout the year (bear in mind, I never won any prizes for speed reading). Cheer on your favorites and let me know what you think! I’m always looking for recommendations and welcome dissenting opinions.

6 thoughts on “March Madness, Literary Style

  1. I didn’t realize you liked Left Hand so much. I know you’ve got a lot on your bookshelf right now, but when you’re ready you should also read The Dispossessed. It’s her other Nebula + Hugo award winner. Next time I’m at the library I’ll check out The Book Thief.

    • The idea behind The Left Hand of Darkness was profound, original, and utterly captivating. And she created a setting with such detail you felt it was a living, breathing entity. Above all, the relationship between the two main characters really touched me. Thanks for giving me the book. I have not been so moved and disquieted by a novel in years. I will definitely look up The Dispossessed.

      It was a close call between Left Hand and The Book Thief. Do check it out–but be prepared for a bittersweet reward.

  2. Yes for Ender’s Game. I read it forever ago, but I remember that I totally loved it and need to reread it!

    In other news, I am so happy that we were able to meet up last week! 🙂

    • Everyone loves Ender’s Game! What am I not seeing? I’ll have to pick it back up as soon as I finish South of Broad.

      Love seeing you too! Keep me updated about all your oceanic adventures!

Leave a Reply

